VS
May 01 2021
Saturday

Dignity Health Sports Park, California, United States

12 round contest @ Middleweight
Thomas Lamanna
Lamanna
United States flag
27-3-3
KO 1
KO 1
30-4-1

Your Scorecard

Belts on The Line

WBA World Middleweight Championship

The tape

38
Age
29
5' 9" / 175 cm
Height
6' 2" / 188 cm
74" / 188 cm
Reach
74" / 188 cm
Southpaw (L)
Stance
Orthodox (R)

Tape record

UDKOSDSDUD
Form
TKOKOUDTKOKO
27
Wins
30
15
By KO
12
56
KO%
40
3
Loses
4
3
Draws
1
2008
Debut
2011

Tape rankings @ Middleweight

-
The Ring
-
-
WBA
8
-
WBC
-
-
WBO
-
-
IBF
-

Erislandy Lara vs Thomas Lamanna report


Who won Lara vs Lamanna?

Erislandy Lara beat Thomas Lamanna by knockout in the 1st round on Saturday, May 1st, 2021, at Dignity Health Sports Park, California.

The fight was scheduled to take place over 12 rounds in the Middleweight division, which meant the weight limit was 160 pounds (11.4 stone or 72.6 kg).

This contest was for the WBA middleweight championship of the world.

The undercard featured the clash of Ramirez vs Avelar.

Lara vs Lamanna stats

Back in May 2021, Erislandy Lara stepped into the ring with a record of 27 wins, 3 losses, and 3 draws, 15 of those wins coming by way of knockout.

Thomas Lamanna made his way to the ring with a record of 30 wins, 4 losses and 1 draw, with 12 of those wins by knockout.

The stats suggested Lara had an advantage in power over Lamanna, with a 56% knockout percentage compared to Lamanna's 40%.

Erislandy Lara was the older man by 9 years, at 38 years old.

Lamanna had a height advantage of 5 inches over Lara. Despite this, both fighters had equal reach.

Erislandy Lara fought out of the southpaw stance, while Thomas Lamanna was an orthodox fighter.

Lara was arguably the less experienced fighter, having had 2 fewer fights, and made his debut in 2008, 2 years and 7 months earlier than Lamanna, whose first professional fight was in 2011. He had fought 7 fewer professional rounds, totaling 236 compared to Lamanna's 243.

Thomas Lamanna was ranked number 8 by the WBA in the 160lb division.

Lara vs Lamanna form

Lara had beaten 3 of his last 5 opponents, stopping 1 of them, going the distance twice.

In his last fight before this contest, he had beaten Greg Vendetti on August 29, 2020, by unanimous decision in their WBA World Super Welterweight championship fight at Microsoft Theater, Los Angeles, California, United States.

Prior to that, he had beaten Ramon Alvarez on August 31, 2019, by technical knockout in the 2nd round in their WBA World Super Welterweight championship fight at Minneapolis Armory, Minnesota.

Going into that contest, he had drawn with Brian Carlos Castano on March 2, 2019, by split draw in their WBA World Super Welterweight championship fight at Barclays Center, New York.

Before that, he had been beaten by Jarrett Hurd on April 7, 2018, by split decision in their IBF World Junior Middleweight and WBA Super World Super Welterweight championship fight at Hard Rock Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas, Nevada.

He had won against Terrell Gausha on October 14, 2017, by unanimous decision in their WBA Super World Super Welterweight championship fight at Barclays Center, New York.

Activity check

Lara's last 5 fights had come over a period of 3 years, 6 months and 17 days, which means he had been fighting approximately every 8 months and 16 days. In those fights, he fought a total of 50 rounds, meaning that they had lasted 10 rounds on average.

What time did Lara vs Lamanna start?

The fighters were expected to ringwalk at around 6:00 PM EST / 3:00 PM PST at Dignity Health Sports Park, California, United States, which was around 11:00 PM BST in the UK.

Who broadcast Lara vs Lamanna?

The FOX show began at 7:00 PM EST / 4:00 PM PST. The Premier Sports broadcast of the card started at 12:00 AM (BST).

What were the odds on Lara vs Lamanna?

Erislandy Lara was a 1/25 (-2500) favorite going into the contest, while Thomas Lamanna made his way into the ring at 9/1 (+900) with oddsmakers.

Also on this card

Erislandy Lara vs Thomas Lamanna news

Lara vs Lamanna Full Fight Video

Lara vs Lamanna replay

Fighter photo
Fighter photo
Back to fight

Result

Erislandy

Lara

Thomas

Lamanna

0

total score

0

Round 1

Lara
draw
Lamanna
Fight Finished Early

Fight ended in round

Winner announced as

back
edit
Go To My Scorecards

my scorecard

Erislandy Lara

Thomas Lamanna

108

total

120

-

round 1

-

-

round 2

-

-

round 3

-

-

round 4

-

-

round 5

-

-

round 6

-

-

round 7

-

-

round 8

-

-

round 9

-

-

round 10

-

-

round 11

-

-

round 12

-

Discuss

Give us your thoughts on Lara vs Lamanna

Join Box.Live, it’s free!

Sign up